Barriers; Right?

20 03 2012

Everyone has a barrier; Whether it’s admitted to or not;  Especially when it comes to relationships.

My inspiration behind this post, was when a co-worker told me the reasons of her break up. Which kind of left me laughing, I know, how rude right? Well let me start off.

1) Talked too much

The boyfriend, claimed that as a couple they talked too much. She kept telling me about how according to him they always talked, non stop! She then continued by saying “We never even talked! Once in a blue moon!” So it left me wondering, was she a nonstop chatter? or did he just find an easy way out? Anyways, I pushed her to continue with the other two reasons.

2) Saw each other too much

He said that they spent too much time together; that they hardly had time to breathe! This was his second reason for the breakup; At this point I was wondering who was telling the truth; Suffocated boyfriend or never see me girlfriend;

3)Dating for too long

His last reason was that they had been dating for too long, and he’d never been in a relationship for that long..(7months) After she mentioned this I couldn’t help but picture the couple. If this was their break up, I couldn’t image their relationship;

I couldn’t stand to listen to her continue to talk about her, what seemed pointless, break up; So I went to the back on the restaurant ( I work at a restaurant)  and I started thinking of all the barriers that relationships have and that people go through; I mean that couple obviously had something wrong; Both sides of their stories were completely different, I started wondering as to what kind of barriers they had and the ones I’ve come across.

Talking:  That always seemed to be a barrier for me, I couldn’t always fully express myself to him; I always felt blocked, it took me hours to get the words I wanted and when I finally started to get them out, I’d stop or freeze; Maybe this couple had a communication barrier? Maybe he felt like he spoke to much and she felt like she never spoke at all.

Experience: This must have been a barrier between that couple; The boy in that relationship probably hasn’t been in many relationships. If he was scared after 7months he must be new to the whole game; This has to be a common barrier in relationships. Couples are hardly ever on the same level; Maybe his longest relationship was a month and hers was two years? There’s bound to be differences there.

I’m sure there’s hundreds of other barriers relationships go through, including religion, personality, wants, and needs. Getting through them makes the bond stronger though; This last couple obviously couldn’t handle it; I’m surprised they made it 7months.

Getting over my barriers took a lot of energy and dedication, and it got harder each time I didn’t succeed at over coming them; What if the barriers were a sign?

Wouldn’t it be amazing if when you were in a relationship with someone, and you had no barriers; that was your sign. That was your sign that you were both perfect for each other; that your relationship would NOT fail.

It would be pretty sick; Save me the trouble; but somehow…All that trouble I went through getting through those barriers made it even better when I kissed him; It was as if the glares in our eyes aligned and my missing puzzle piece fit even better.

 
The best way to get over a barrier? Push through it, but don’t do it alone. Let them to help you out..It’s a relationship for a reason; It’s part of the romanticism. Going through hell together, but maybe it doesn’t need to be hell? Just don’t let the trying be one-sided.

Those are my words on barriers though; This couple obviously had it’s fair share, although from hearing what I heard it didn’t really sound like a solid couple anyways..Waters are meant to be tested though, and barriers are always built to be broken.

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 03 2012
deanjbaker

good to see

21 03 2012
heart-in-hand

Hey there, non-anonymous! Thanks for this idea. I used it on my blog.

22 03 2012
dulceest

Haha; After posting that I realized I should have added my name;
No problem! c:

Leave a Reply

